🚀 We're excited to announce a new website is on the way! Take an early look and feel free to offer feedback.


H.L. Talkington Faculty Achievement Award

The Talkington Achievement Award recognizes the tradition of teaching excellence as exemplified by the career of H. L. Talkington, who came to Lewiston State Normal School in 1899 and was an outstanding instructor here for 40 years. He was the first school librarian, was active in committee assignments, and wrote dozens of publications on Idaho and Pacific Northwest history.

Eligibility:  Regular full-time faculty members who have taught at the college for at least three years. Award recipients are ineligible for the year immediately following their award.  Please contact the Provost's Office at provost@lcsc.edu if you question a nominee’s eligibility.

Criteria: Nomination packets must include: demonstrated significant and meritorious achievements in teaching; Evidence of high standards with regard to the rigor and currency of course content, as well as the level of student performance with respect to these standards; Measures of direct impact upon student learning, and evidence of a spirit of academic collegiality.  The record of performance should emphasize the current academic year. 

Procedure: Nominations are to be submitted to the Provost Office, and must include at least three letters of support from colleagues, faculty, administrators or students. A copy of the fall semester student course evaluation results would be helpful. Nomination packets will be reviewed by a committee of five faculty, appointed by the Faculty Association chair.  The chair of the selection committee will be the past year’s award recipient.

2019 Rachelle Genthos
2018 Henrik Brosten
2017 Vonda Mulrony
2016 Eleanor Downey
2015 Tracy Flynn
 2014 Dan Mayton
2013 Andy Dahlquist
2012 Gwen Taylor
2011 Harold Crook
2010 Alan Marshall
2009 Jane Finan 
2008 Clay Robinson 
2007 Matthew Johnston
2006 Ella-Mae Keatts 
2005 Christopher Norden
2004 Masoud Kazemi
2003 Kathie Wilcox
2002 Dan Mayton
2001 Tom Urquhart
2000 Betsy VanClief
1999 Michael A. Hill
1998 Scott Linneman
1997 Gene Straughan
1996 Alice Bevans
1995 Okey Goode
1994 Patricia Keith
  Burlington Northern
1993 Mary Flores
1992 Cheryl Granby
1991 Rhett Diessner
1990 Okey Goode
1989 Okey Goode
1988 Barbara McNeil
1987 Shirlee Hennigan
1986 David Sears