Administrative Services

Gazebo and trees

Arboretum Committee Campus Trees

The LCSC Arboretum Committee was approved by the President Council in 2008, and then had its inaugural meeting in 2010 as the Arborteum Project. While responsibility for campus trees is assigned to the LCSC Physical Plant, the Arboretum Committee assists by providing guidance for future planning, input to a comprehensive campus tree plan, education of the campus community about the benefits of trees, and development of a community connection related to our campus and community trees.

Questions? Contact us at

Tree Campus USA

Arboretum Accreditation

Campus Tree Tours

Duties of the Committee

  • Classifying, cataloguing, and placarding of trees/ plants on campus
  • Developing educational opportunities/activities for students/ community
  • Planning for maintenance, removal (as required), and replacement of trees/ shrubs
  • Planning for other botanical exhibits on campus
  • Organizing campus or community support/fund-raising
  • Organizing an Arbor Day celebration each year

Committee Members

The committee members will serve for a minimum of one year with an option for renewing the following year.

Committee members are expected to actively participate and contribute in developing policy and guidelines for the tree care plan.  No set number of committee members is required; however, the committee must always include a representative from the following groups:

  • LCSC Student
  • LCSC Faculty Member
  • LCSC Physical Plant staff
  • Community (preferably city forester, municipal arborist, or landscape architect)

When new members for the committee need to be recruited, the Arboretum Committee Co-Chairs are responsible for nominating new members.

Current Members



Job Title

Todd Kilburn, Co-Chair Staff Vice President for Finance & Administration
Carrie Kyser, Co-Chair Staff Instructional Designer (Landscape Architect)
Tim Barker Community Director, Lewiston Parks and Recreation
Don Brigham Community Landscape Architect
Wayne Bolon Staff Landscape Foreman, Physical Plant
Rhett Diessner Faculty Professor of Psychology
Jeanette Gara Faculty

Adjunct Faculty, Natural Sciences and Kinesiology; LCSC Learning Garden Founder

Tom Garrison Staff  Director, Physical Plant
 Jenni Light  Faculty  Professor of Engineering
 Bill Malcolm  Community  Normal Hill Cemetery & Arboretum
 Dr. Bill Mannschreck  Community  Retired Doctor; LCSC Foundation 
 Angie McClain  Staff  Administrative Assistant, Physical Plant
 Ben Stowell  Student  Work Scholar